Atiku Declared Winner of Sokoto, Kaduna, Bayelsa Presidential Polls

Atiku Abubakar, the presidential candidate for People Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared winner of the presidential election in Sokoto, Kaduna and Bayelsa states.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Atiku polled a sum of 288,679 votes in Sokoto. His major contenders, All Progressives Congress (APC)’a Bola Tinubu and Labour Party (LP)’s Peter Obi secured 285,444 and 6,568 respectively.

The result was announced by the returning officer for the presidential election in the state, Prof Kabiru Bala, according to the TheICIR.

Kabiru Bala, the Vice Chancellor of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, announced the winner at exactly 2:38 am on Tuesday, 

According to him, a total of 471 polling units results were canceled due to electoral violence.

He further explained that the affected areas also include 301,499 registered voters with 254,902 Permanent Voter Cards collected.


Similarly, Atiku Abubakar reportedly defeated Tinubu and Obi in Kaduna with over 200,000 votes difference.

Atiku scored 554,360 to edge the All Progressives Congress presidential candidate, Bola Tinubu, who got 399,293 to come second.

The Labour Party’s Peter Obi polled 294,494 to claim third position.

Atiku won in 14 LGAs which include Giwa, Kauru, Lere, Ikara, Kagarko, Zaria, Sabon-Gari, Makarfi, Kaduna South, Kudan, Igabi, Kaduna North, Kubau and Soba.

Obi also won seven LGAs.


In the same vein, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) secured victory in Bayelsa State.

He was confirmed winner by the state Returning Officer and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Benin Prof. Lilian Salami, at the Baylesa State presidential election collation centre in the early hours of Tuesday.

The PDP scored a total of 68,818 to edge the Labour Party’s Peter Obi, who scored 49,975. The All Progressives Congress (APC) Bola Tinubu had 42,572.

The platform reported that the state had 1,056,862 registered voters and 177,368 accredited voters across its eight local government areas (LGAs).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Read

Latest stories