Bauchi, Gombe, 13 Other States Get N22.79bn To Enroll Out-Of-School Children

The Universal Basic Education Commission, UBEC, has approved N22.79bn to 15 states through the World Bank-funded Better Education Service Delivery for All project.

According to the Federal Ministry of Education, the states were chosen based on the prevalence of the number of out-of-school children.

The Ministry had in November 2021, noted that about 924,590 out of the previous figures of 10,193,918 out-of-school children in Nigeria have been enrolled into basic schools.

The states are Adamawa, Bauchi, Ebonyi, Gombe, Jigawa, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Niger, Oyo, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe and Zamfara.

Read: Bauchi community constructs 2 classrooms to enroll out of school children

Related Posts

While Adamawa, Bauchi, Ebonyi, Gombe, Jigawa, Kebbi, Niger, Oyo, Rivers, Yobe and Zamfara would pocket N1.2bn each, Kano, Katsina and Sokoto would receive N2.4 bn each but Taraba State would take N2.05 bn.

The Commission had last week stated that it disbursed N533.7bn to the 36 states and FCT between 2005 and 2021.

- Advertisements -
NNPC Mega Filling Station

UBEC is the Federal Government’s agency responsible for the supervision of basic education in Nigeria and the disbursement of intervention funds in areas of basic education.

Read: Nigeria Tops Global Out of School Children Index

WikkiTimes recalls that Bauchi State accounts for the highest number of out-of-school children in Nigeria with over one million children in the state not attending any formal learning institution.

Related Posts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest stories

Most Read

Join WikkiTimes Newsletter