Bauchi Gov Nominates Campaign DG, Ex-Deputy Speaker, Others as Commissioners

Bauchi State Governor Bala Mohammed has nominated Farouk Mustapha, his campaign Director-General during the gubernatorial election and Danlami Ahmed Kawule, the immediate past deputy speaker of the Bauchi State House of Assembly for commissioner positions.

The governor nominated their names alongside 21 others to the assembly to screen and confirm them.

Farouk who lost the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship ticket to Air Marshal Sadique Baba Abubakar (rtd) dumped the party for Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and later became the party’s campaign DG for the governorship campaign council.

Four Women Make List of Political Appointment in Bauchi

Kawule on the other hand, failed in his bid to win the PDP ticket to become a member representing Bauchi Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives. 

The nominees cut across all the 20 local government areas of the state.

Reading the list of the nominees on Monday during the plenary of the House, Speaker Abubakar Sulaiman said Governor Mohammed requested the lawmakers to “Screen and confirm nominees for appointment as Commissioners and Members of the State Executive Council in line with the provision of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).”

WikkiData: In 6 months, Bauchi Recorded 1,501 Domestic Violence Cases — Higher Than 352 Documented in 3 Years

The nominees include Maiwada Bello and Ibrahim Gambo both from Alkaleri LGA; Mahmoud Babamaji Abubakar and Danlami Ahmed Kawule from Bauchi LGA; Tsammani Lydia Haruna from Bogoro LGA;  Ahmed Sarki Jalam from Dambam LGA; Yakubu Ibrahim Hamza from Darazo LGA; Usman Santuraki from Dass LGA; Abdul Hassan from Ganjuwa LGA; Muhammad Salees from Gamawa LGA and Dr Yakubu Adamu from Giade LGA. 

Other nominees include Usman Abdulkadir Moddibo from Jama’are LGA; Hajara Jibrin Gidado from Itas-Gadau LGA; Farouk Mustapha from Katagum LGA; Hajara Yakubu Wanka from Kirfi LGA; Aminu Hammayo from Misau LGA;
Hassan El-Yakub (SAN) from Ningi LGA; Muhammad Hamisu from Shira LGA; Silas Madugu and Abubakar Abdulhamid Bununu both from Tafawa Balewa LGA; Jamila Muhammad Dahiru and 
 Dr. Adamu Umar Sambo both from Toro LGA; Abdulrazak Nuhu Zaki from Warji LGA and Amina Muhammad Katagum from Zaki LGA. 

The House scheduled the screening of the commissioner nominees to commence from 2nd through to 4th  August 2023.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest stories

Most Read