Osun 2022: Gov Oyetola Declared Winner of APC Primary Election

Isiaka Adegboyega Oyetola, the Osun State Governor, has been declared winner of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Osun State governorship primary election held on Saturday, February 19.

Declaring the result, the Chairman of the primary election committee and Kwara State Governor AbdulRazaq AbdulRahman stated that Oyetola got 222,169 votes to emerge victorious while Moshood Adeoti, had 12,921 and Lasun Yusuf, polled 460 votes.

“I, AbdulRazaq AbdulRahman, Chairman of Osun Direct Primary committee, hereby certify that Isiaka Adegboyega Oyetola, having secured the highest number of votes in the election, is hereby declared winner”, he said.

Recall that barely three days before the Osun primary election, the former Governor of the state, and the current Minister of Interior, Mr Rauf Aregbesola has been campaigning for Adeoti, stating that Adeoti would win the primary election, if conducted free and fair.

However, at Aregbesola’s Ward 08, Ifofin in Ilesa East Local Council, Oyetola won with 309 votes against his anointed Adeoti who polled 146 votes.

Gov AbdulRazaq, who earlier promised a free, fair and credible exercise maintained that the exercise was peaceful, free of violence.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest stories

Most Read