20.2 C
Thursday, September 29, 2022
HomeNewsPDP Sweeps All 21 Seats In Adamawa LG Polls

PDP Sweeps All 21 Seats In Adamawa LG Polls

Most Read

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won all the 21 Chairmanship seats in the local government election conducted in Adamawa state.

The chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission (ADSIEC) Isa Shettima, announced the result of the election on Sunday in Yola the state capital.

He announced that “Having satisfied the requirements of the law and highest votes score, the candidates of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have won the all 21 local government council elections”.

Shettima also commended the residents for their cooperation in ensuring a successful exercise and also commended the professionalism shown by the security operatives and other stakeholders during the exercise.

Adamawa State is the hometown of the former Vice President and one of the top contestants for the Presidency in the forthcoming 2023 elections, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, who said the PDP’s victory shows that the party is the preferred choice of Nigerians.

“The outcome of the weekend’s LG Elections in Adamawa State confirms the resurgence of the PDP and the preference of its policies by the citizens”.

“The election that produced an overwhelming victory for the PDP was a referendum on the failed policies of the APC, which has only succeeded in increasing the tribe of the poor and jobless.

He said “I congratulate all elected officials of the PDP and urge them to be focused on providing good governance to their people if the support of their constituents is to be assured.

“I commend officials of the Adamawa State Independent Electoral Commission (ADSIEC), security agents, and the citizens for the peaceful conduct of the polls and I urge the opposition party to join hands to work as a team in providing much-needed governance and development to the local councils as they are the tier of government closest to the people.

He commended the Governor of the state Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri, stating that he created the conditions precedent for the PDP victory.

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and All Progressives Congress (APC) were the parties contested in the election and Certificates of return were also presented to winning candidates on Sunday evening.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest stories