Prof Pate, 33 Others Make History, To Be Inducted Into NAL

Professor Umaru Pate, alongside other 33 scholars will be inducted into the Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL) at its 24th convocation and induction program.

Also, 11 members of the academy are expected to be admitted as fellows between August 10-12, 2022, in Lagos.

Among the 33 scholars, WikkiTimes learnt that Pate, a professor of mass communication who doubles as the Vice Chancellor of Federal University Kashere, and Sule Emmanuel Egya are the only northerners.

Reacting to this, Prof Pate glorified God for his academic sojourn and strides in his career.

The three-day event, titled, ‘Cultural Commonalities in Nigeria’s Heterogeneity, according to Fombina Stories will feature Professor Simeon Olusegun Ilesanmi who will deliver a convocation lecture titled: ‘The Republic of Dignity: The Nigerian Common Humanity in a Culturally Heterogeneous Nigeria.’

Related Posts

READ: Kperogi, Nkanga, Pate, Omeje… Excerpts From WikkiTimes’ Capacity Building for Journalists

For inperson participation, the event will be held at J. F. Ade. Ajayi Auditorium, University of Lagos, while those who want to join virtually can use this zoom link: ID: 87299249918.

- Advertisements -
NNPC Mega Filling Station

Other scholars who will speak during the scientific session of the event are Professor Egodi Uchendu, Professor Emmanuel S. Dandaura and Professor Gideon Sunday Omachonu.

The trio will speak on ‘Historical Indications of Cultural Commonalities in Nigeria’s Heterogeneity — ‘Navigating Nigeria’s Multiculturalism and the National Identity Question’ —and ‘Cultural Commonalities in Nigeria’s Heterogeneity: A Linguistic Perspective.’

Also other inductees apart from Professor Pate and Egya, include Professors Friday Nwankwo Ndubuisi, Dan Okey Chukwu, Isaac E. Ukpokolo, Nkechi Mercy Christopher, Olakunbi O. Olasope, and AbdulRasheed Abiodun Adeoye.

Related Posts

Others are Victor Osaro Edo, Victor Okoro Ukaogo, John Obasikene, Olusanjo Matthew Abayomi Daramola, and Oyekanmi Paul Taiwo.

Ikechukwu Anthony Kanu, Mike Odugbo Odey, Oladiipo Jacob Ajiboye, Akinbiyi M. Akinlabi, and Abayomi Kizito Folorunso, also made the list.

READ: Prof. Pate Blames Religious Disharmony For Fragile Cohesion, Peace In Nigeria

Furthermore, the indictees’ lists include Professors Afolorunso Olalekan Dairo, Ademola Adeleke, Taiwo Olayemi Soneye, Angela Chinyere Nwagbara, John Ebute Agaba, Oyeronke Olademo, Gowon Ama Doki, and Akinwumi Ogundiran. Professors Olukoya Joseph Ogen, Muraino Olayiwola Oso, Rotimi Williams Olatunji, Benjamin Olumuyiwa Popoola, Elizabeth Onyedi Ezenweke, Anyebe Ted Anyebe, Caleb Oladele Orimoogunje, and Emmanuel Folorunso Taiwo.

Those to be invested as new Fellows are Professors Roseline Oro Aziza (Linguistics – Regular Fellow), Godini Gabriel Darah (Literature/English – Regular Fellow), Oluyemisi Adebowale (Literature/Yoruba-Regular Fellow), Alex Chinwuba Asigbo (Theatre Arts -Regular Fellow), Yakubu Aboki Ochefu (History- Regular Fellow) and Olumuyiwa Adebanjo Falaiye (Philosophy-Regular Fellow).

Others are Professor Emeritus John Ayotunde I. Bewaji (Overseas Fellow – Philosophy), Professors Simeon Olusegun Ilesanmi (Overseas Fellow – Religious Studies), Justus Obi Joseph Nwachukwu-Agbada (Regular Fellow – Literature), Mr Odia Ofeimun – (Honorary Fellow) and Chief Olusola Akintola Osuntokun (Honorary Fellow).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest stories

Most Read

Join WikkiTimes Newsletter