22.1 C
Wednesday, March 22, 2023

Governorship and States Assembly Elections 2023

For Live Updates

HomeNewsApplications Are Open for Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting

Applications Are Open for Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting

Applications for the 17th edition of the Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting (WSAIR) award are open for journalists from October 4, 2022.

The award which seeks to honour the works of reporters from the print, online, photo, editorial cartoon, television, and radio categories is open to full-time reporters and freelancers (18 years and above) whose reports focus on Nigeria.

Such reports, according to the centre, must spotlight an in-depth coverage of clandestine activities on public and/or corporate corruption, human rights abuses, or regulatory failures in Nigeria.

READ: WikkiTimes Publisher, Haruna, Fisayo, Others To Speak At 14th Wole Soyinka Centre Media Lecture Series

In addition, the stories must be newsworthy and investigative and must expose or prevent clandestine activities and corruption in the public and private domain, and promote human rights.

WSCIJ says judges will score entries based on the quality of investigation, evidence, human rights elements, ethical reportage, courage, individual creativity, public interest, impact, and presentation.

The organiser says, “The award has held annually since 2005 and has since produced 109 finalists, 56 Soyinka laureates, and 12 investigative journalists of the year.

READ: Soyinka: Nigeria Is In A Mess… It’s Disintegrating Before Our Very Eyes

“It has also made 26 honorary decorations for its Lifetime Award for Journalistic Excellence and the Anti-Corruption/Human Rights Defender Award”

The deadline for submission of entries is October 24, 2022, by 4 pm. Interested applicants should apply.

Read eligibility and criteria here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Read

Latest stories