AT LAST: Tinubu Defeats Osinbajo, Amaechi, Lawan, Others To Clinch APC Presidential Ticket

Asiwaju Ahmed Bola Tinubu, has emerged victorious at the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential election held at Eagle Square, Abuja

The APC chieftain ruffled feathers with Nigeria’s top citizens after the president — Professor Yemi Osinbajo, the incumbent vice president and Ahmed Lawan, also the serving senate president.

Tinubu’s victory came after seven aspirants withdrew from the race and encouraged their delegates to vote him. He polled 1,271 votes against his political protege, Osinbajo who polled 235 votes. Rotimi Amaechi, the former minister of transportation outplayed Osinbajo with 316 votes, Ahmed Lawan 152, Yahaya Bello, 47, Ben Ayade 37 followed by David Umahi who polled 38 votes.

Rochas Okorocha, Tein Jack-Rich and Tunde Bakare walked home with zero vote while, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba and Ogbonnaya Onu got one vote each.

As the party’s convention ends today, Tinubu, comes 2023 general election, will battle with Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Peter Obi of the Labour Party (LP) among other candidates in other parties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest stories

Most Read

Signup To WikkiTimes Newsletter