Just In: PDP Defeats APC To Win Osun Gov’ship Election

Senator Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has won the Osun governorship election after defeating  Governor Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Senator Adeleke scored 402,979 votes to defeat the incumbent Oyetola who polled 375,077 votes.

Adeleke won in 17 local government areas including Olorunda, Ede South, Orolu, Osogbo, Odo Otin, Ifelodun, Atakumosa, and Ila, 

The pioneer National Chairman of the ruling APC, Bisi Akande is from Ila LGA.

Meanwhile, Governor Oyetola won in 13 local government areas including Iwo, Ayedaade, Ife South and Ife East. 

The 2022 Osun governorship election took place in all the 30 local government areas of the state with 3,763 polling units and 332 registration areas.

The other 15 political parties’ candidates in the election include Mr Oyegoke Omigbodun, Social Democratic Party (SDP); Dr Akin Ogunbiyi (Accord); Mr Yusuf Lasun (Labour Party); Munirudeen Atanda (Action Democratic Party).

- Advertisements -
NNPC Mega Filling Station

Accord Party came third with 4,508 votes, followed by Labour Party with 2,729 votes, African Action Congress with 2,141 votes and Social Democratic Party with 515 votes. 

In 2018, the Independent National Electoral Commission declared Oyetola as the winner, having polled 255,505 votes against Adeleke, who had 255,023 votes at the end of a supplementary election, which was held in seven polling units across four local governments amidst allegations of harassment and other forms of malpractice.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest stories

Most Read

Signup To WikkiTimes Newsletter